River Side


Odessa Collins Sharp HouseOdessa was first settled by the Dutch in the 17th century and was originally named Appoquinimink, after a neighboring creek. British settlers gradually replaced the Dutch, and in 1664 the Appoquinimink area was confiscated and deeded to Captain Edmund Cantwell. Today, Odessa's footprint is a mere .5 square miles with approximately 286 residents.

But Odessa does boast some of the finest examples of 18th- and 19th-century architecture and lifestyles in the Brandywine Valley. Five of the town's most unique properties are known collectively as the Historic Houses of Odessa operated by the Historic Odessa Foundation and are open year-round for tours, most popularly during the seasonal "Holidays in Odessa" weekend. The houses include the Corbit-Sharp House (circa 1774), the Wilson Warner House (circa 1769), the Collins-Sharp House (circa 1700), the Brick Hotel (circa 1822) and the Odessa Bank (circa 1853).